Log in

No account? Create an account
i've been offered a place to live...does anyone know this area? - Tell Me How You Really Feel [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

[Links:| Dissident Voice SF IndyMedia AlterNet CodePink Common Dreams ]

i've been offered a place to live...does anyone know this area? [Jan. 9th, 2005|07:57 pm]
[Current Mood |nervousnervous]

I've been offered a room in this house--see the photos and posting below. I met with the guy for two hours tonight. He seemed pretty cool, the room was big and had a large closet. The only thing I'm unsure about is the location--is anyone familiar with this area off of Seminary near Mills? I was there after dark so I'm not sure.

copy and past the craigslist URL into your address bar to see the posting and get the link to see photos...

Oakland Room for Non-Smoking Female Only

Original URL: http://www.craigslist.org/eby/roo/54713275.html

Posted by:
Posted on: 2005-01-06, 3:20PM


House to share near Mills College, highways 580 & 13, 10 minutes to Berkeley, 15 to SF. EZ-Bus to Bart, but life is easier if you have a car.

Our house: progressive-thinking, healthy-eating, somewhat vegetarian, conserving, recycling, alternative music appreciating, hardwood floors, gas cooking, microwave, H2O filter, networked (ethernet and Wi-Fi) DSL internet connection in room, washer, dryer, quiet neighborhood, cul-de-sac, parking, doggy or two, large, wooded property in Millsmont ravine, overlooking Chimes Creek, redwood decks, redwood trees, garden, composting, fruit trees, hammock, hot tub. Three bedroom house with 2.5 baths. Two people now (one m, one f) and we need a third (female only, to maintain gender balance).

Room Available: Master room about 12' x 13' with large 9'6" closet, sliding glass doors to deck. room is unfurnished. own 1/2 of bath, (shower is shared with one other female roomie).

We are looking for a roomie with *some* of the following qualities: responsible, neat, considerate, self cleaning. willing to avoid using harsh cleaning chemicals, bug spray and other nasty sprays. be sensitive and courteous to others, communicative, friendly and positive, mellow, emotionally and financially stable, easy going, fun loving and helping by nature, not way into alcohol or drugs, understanding, not boring with an available sense of humor and an interest in living, independent, creative, mature, and have enough going on for yourself. be respectful and want to maintain a relaxed and friendly environment, etc. :)

See some pictures of the place...

Rent: $490 plus $95/month for utilities (water, sewer, gas, electric, garbage, DSL and cable).
Available: Immediately

Deposit: first+last+$200 cleaning/security deposit ($1370) move in cost. Lease Terms: non smoking female only. Month-to-month, but a one year commitment is preferred.

When replying: *please* include home and work phone numbers, best time to reach you, and a little something about yourself, your gig, your passion, your focus, your likes, etc.

Cheers, Bill, et. al.

Map: nairobi and oakdale

[User Picture]From: justin42
2005-01-10 06:02 pm (UTC)
The place looks like a great fit for you. I know a couple of people who live around that area. I can say that near the college itself seems nicer and then certain areas on Seminary itself are kinda sketchy. There's a known drug dealer corner on Seminary but it's closer to the little downtown area where it feels busier. Pals I know who live not too far away from there... their neighborhoods feel safer and not so sketchy. It's just known to avoid that particular corner on Seminary. It can't hurt to ask the people who you might be living with for their honest evaluations about the safety of the neighborhood and what areas to avoid. Also, can you meet the other roommate before you give an answer? Since you'll be sharing a bathroom with her, it seems important to meet her and see if she's someone you think you'd get along with. Good luck to you! The place sounds potentially like a great fit for what you need right now.
(Reply) (Thread)